WaBis

walter.bislins.ch

Hidden Lunar Eclipse Zürich 31.1.2018 13:30 UTC

The Blue moon Eclipse at Wednesday, Janauary 31, 2018 at 14:30 local time (13:30 UTC, 7:30 CST) could not be seen from Zürich Switzerland. The moon was hidden behind the earth at this time and it was daytime here in Zürich. It was overcast the whole day so I could not make any video of the sky to show that the moon was not there. But I can show you an image of the moon as it glimpsed through the clouds at 21:56 local time (20:56 UTC, 14:56 CST) about 4 hours after the eclipse:

ZoomInformationen zum BildBlue Moon at Wednesday, January 31, 2018 at 21:56 local time Zürich (HDR image composite, Sony NEX7, 200mm)

Position of the moon at early evening

Here is the position of the moon as at 19:10 local time (18:10 UTC, 12:10 CST) as shown through the Theodolite App on my iPhone 8:

ZoomInformationen zum BildMoon at 19:10 local time at Altitude 15° and Azimuth 79°

This position of the moon at 19:10 local time is confirmed by mooncalc.org:

ZoomInformationen zum BildMoon position at 19:10 local time Zürich on January 31, 2018 on mooncalc.org

Where could the eclipse be observed?

The website timeanddate.com confirms that the eclipse was not visible in Zürich Switzerland:

ZoomInformationen zum BildScreenshot from timeanddate.com showing the ranges where the eclispse can be seen, Zürich at the center

Where was the moon at eclipse time as seen from Zürich?

On each full moon the sun and moon should be at opposite positions of the earth. The earth lies approx. on a line between sun and moon. This can be confirmed with the website mooncalc.org and suncalc.org:

ZoomInformationen zum BildPosition of the Moon at the full eclipse at 15:00 local time Zürich
ZoomInformationen zum BildPosition of the Sun at the full moon eclipse at 14:59 local time Zürich

Note that Zürich lies exactly between the line from the moon to the sun. This screenshots were taken at the time of the full eclipse as seen from 8:00 CST = 15:00 local time in Zürich.

More Page Infos / Sitemap
Created Donnerstag, 1. Februar 2018
Scroll to Top of Page
Changed Donnerstag, 1. Februar 2018